Pagan and Magickal Terms and Definitions

Today’s Word is



Term for Wiccan holidays adopted by other Pagan and Witchcraft paths. In Wiccan tradition, Sabbats are solar festivals that usually honor the God and the changing of the seasons or Wheel of the Year. Eight sabbats are celebrated in a Wiccan year.


Each of the eight Wiccan holidays celebrated in a calendar year. The first sabbat is Yule and then comes Imbolc, Ostara, Beltane, Litha, Lammas, Mabon, and Samhain. These festivals are considered sacred days and it’s tradition to celebrate them in good company.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.