Zodiac Sign Qualities – Explore the meaning of Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable signs

Zodiac Sign Qualities

Explore the meaning of Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable signs

Tarotcom Staff on the topics of zodiac, insight, astrology

Ok friends, are you ready to dive a little bit deeper into Astrology? You probably know there are 12 zodiac signs and four elements (Fire, Earth, Air and Water), but have you heard about zodiac sign “qualities?”

Every sign is influenced by one of three qualities: Cardinal, Fixed or Mutable. Each of the qualities is defined by a point within each season: Cardinal signs begin a new season, Fixed signs carry the weight of the season, and Mutable signs conclude the season.

Take fall, for example. Fall Equinox falls on September 22, the same day the Sun enters Libra. Because Libra kicks off the fall season, that makes Libra a Cardinal sign. Scorpio takes over in the midst of fall, making it a Fixed sign. And the season concludes with the Sun in Sagittarius, making that a Mutable sign.

Get it? Astrology is all about nuance, so to truly understand a zodiac sign you must explore the quality each is associated with. So now that you understand how the qualities are structured, let’s take a look at each of the three Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable qualities, what they mean and how they shape your personality.

Cardinal signs

There are four Cardinal signs: Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. Because these signs each start a new season, the quality of their energy is full of initiative. Cardinal signs are impulsive and dynamic, and they push strongly to start new things. In general, people with Cardinal signs in their birth charts generate more new ideas and projects, while those lacking Cardinal energy are more passive.

Fixed signs

There are four Fixed signs: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius. These signs carry the weight of each season, which gives them a sturdy quality. Fixed signs are capable of great endurance, and generally people with much Fixed energy in their birth charts are stable and focused, whereas those lacking Fixed energy may not have much sticktoitiveness or perseverance.

Mutable signs

There are four Mutable signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. Because these signs fall at the conclusion of each season, their energy anticipates movement and change. People with Mutable signs in their birth charts tend to be more flexible and adaptable to the changing world around them, while those lacking Mutable energy may be stubborn and inflexible or have a difficult time adjusting to new situations.

How qualities are used

When you’re learning Astrology, you’ll discover that every person has a mix of different zodiac signs, elements and qualities in their birth charts. Once you understand the energy of each quality and combine that information with what you know of each zodiac sign and element, a more complete picture will begin to develop.

For example, the Aries zodiac sign is the element of Fire and the quality is Cardinal. This “Cardinal Fire” combination is very bold, so the more Aries energy a person has in their birth chart, the more brazen they will be. On the other hand, Taurus is an Earth sign with a Fixed quality, so it would be called “Fixed Earth” and its overall energy is very slow and grounded.

Knowing how much of each quality you have in your birth chart is very important. These astrological nuances are what shape us as individuals, so going beyond your Sun sign is key when it comes to understanding Astrology.

Enhanced by Zemanta

New Moon Report for May 8th – Mercury in Taurus

Mercury in Taurus

Tuesday, May 8, 10:15 pm PDT, Wednesday, May 9, 1:15 am EDT

The speedy messenger’s presence in this fixed sign slows down thinking and concentrates minds. We can focus on the basics now, helping to put ideas on a more realistic foundation. Mercury in Taurus isn’t the most creative position for this intellectual planet because it’s rooted in facts and eschews fantasy. It may also take additional time to digest new concepts that require thorough chewing before we’re ready to swallow. Trust, though, can be built with down-to-earth conversations that are grounded in simplicity and expressed with clarity. Changing others’ minds is challenging, particularly if people feel pressured to do so. Encountering resistance to new ideas from individuals or in our own minds is best overcome by subtly working around conflict rather than trying to force issues. A calm voice and easygoing approach connects more effectively than heated conversations.

New Moon Report for May 11 – Mars in Taurus

Mars in Taurus

Wednesday, May 11, 12:04 am PDT, 3:04 am EDT

Energetic Mars slows down in this fixed sign where it is more inclined to stay in place than to forge ahead. Asserting ourselves may be more difficult with the warrior planet in placid Taurus as overt expressions of anger tend to be repressed. Passive-aggressive behavior often occurs when we’re unable to be straightforward about our feelings. The positive side of this transit is consistency of effort that may not be exciting or creative, but provides a calming sense of continuity in times of radical change.